Director, Bylaw elections held at annual meeting


Sunshine 811 held its annual elections at the 2019 Annual Meeting, May 16, 2019 in DeBary. Re-elected to the board for fiscal year 2019-2020 are: Rick Barrett, Florida Gas Transmission; Terrill M. Booker, Lake Apopka Natural Gas District; Michael Borg, City of Lakeland Water; Michael DeGraw, CenturyLink; Shawn Deutscher, Williams/Gulfstream Natural Gas System; Warren DiNapoli, Jacksonville Electric Authority; Oscar Estrada, City of Tampa Wastewater Department; Russell Harris, TECO Peoples Gas; Joe Heatherly, FPL; John Lambert, Reedy Creek Energy Services; and Steve Marshall, Charter Communications.

Bruce Kershner, R. Bruce Kershner Company, was re-elected to the Board as an associate member. Carlos Solis, Pinellas County Utilities, was elected to the Board, previously serving on the Sunshine 811 Board and several committees for more than 10 years.

2019-20 Officers

Chair: Lorenzo Jones, TECO Electric

Vice Chair: Mike Borg, City of Lakeland Water

Secretary: Terrill Booker, Lake Apopka Natural Gas District

Treasurer: Shawn Deutscher, Gulfstream Natural Gas System

Assistant Treasurer: Lisa Jackson, Hillsborough County Public Utilities Department

Assistant Secretary: Michelle Johnson, Duke Energy

Committee Chairs

Damage Prevention Committee: Carlos Bates, Frontier Communications

Finance Committee: Shawn Deutscher, Gulfstream Natural Gas System

Legislative Ad-Hoc Committee: Bruce Kershner, R. Bruce Kershner Company

Operations Committee: Steve Marshall, Charter Communications

Bylaws Change

Section D. Organization of Committees: Each committee except the Executive Committee and the Finance Committee shall have a chairperson elected by the Board of Directors, but the members of each Committee shall select the vice chairperson of the committee. The chairperson and secretary of the Board of Directors shall also occupy those same positions on the Executive Committee. The chairperson of any committee shall not hold the position for more than two consecutive one year terms.

Section B. Election and Term: The officers of the Corporation shall be elected by the Board of Directors. Such election may be held at any regular or special meeting of the Board at which a quorum is present. Each officer shall be elected for a term of one year. The Chairperson may be reelected for one subsequent, consecutive one-year term. All other than the Chairperson and may be re-elected. for any number of subsequent, consecutive one-year terms.