Going #aboveandbeyond lands four locators the 2019 Locator Excellence Award


Communication. Understanding. Respect. Trust. These are the qualities demonstrated by past Locator Excellence Award winners. And this year’s winners were no different.

Preventing damage to buried facilities is a responsibility shared by everyone involved. And those four qualities are key to a successful process.

In its fourth year, the program focuses on the relationship developed between the contractor, member and locator. Locators were nominated by contractors in the field for outstanding work on their projects that lead to safe and timely project completion.

"Every day locators are faced with a demanding work load," states Mark Sweet, Sunshine 811 executive director, "and they are perpetually busy locating and marking our state's underground facilities. The Locator Excellence Award is just one way we can let them know that we appreciate everything they do for Florida."

This year’s winners:

  • Mitzi Hughes, TECO Gas
    Nominated by Mike Elliott with F and H Contractors.

  • Darnell Dixon, JEA
    Nominated by Kyle Lee with Blue Hill.

  • Christine Andrews, USIC
    Nominated by John Coniglio with Jamie Underground Inc.

  • Bob Reilly, SunBelt Telecom
    Nominated by TJ Kelley with Quanta Telcom.

Locator Excellence Award social media posts helped direct stakeholders to the Sunshine 811 website.